Skeletal System

  • Skeletal system composed of bones and cartilage
  • Divided into three main parts
    • Skull: Contains braincase and jaw
    • Axial: Contains the vertebrae and ribs
    • Appendicular: Contains flippers and hind limbs
  • Endoskeleton are the internal bones
  • Ectoskeleton is the shell which is made of two parts
    • Carapace (Dorsal)
    • Plastron (Ventral)

Ventral view from CT scans

Dorsal view from CT scans